Today was my first day at my new job.  I think I understand what my coworker meant when he told me that there’s never been a day that he dreaded going to work.  All day, I was completely blown away by how nice and supportive and helpful everyone was.

I learned that I have an assistant, and she was incredibly helpful.  I asked her whether there was a dry cleaning service that picked up and dropped off at the office and she said that she was not aware of anything like that.  When I came back from lunch, she had talked to the font of knowledge in the office and got the name of a company that may do pick up and drop off for other businesses in the building and they are going to come in tomorrow to drop off information for us.  That was super cool to experience.

I was given three assignments today. I completed one of them and started research on the other two.  I was really surprised at how knowledgeable I felt and how unafraid I was of doing the research required.  I think it kind of dawned on me that if lawyers who have been practicing for 40 years don’t know the answer to the question, it’s okay if I don’t either.  And if they believe I can find an answer, then I probably can.

All of the partners that were in today took me to lunch.  It was nice to connect with them on a more personal level, learning more about their histories with each other and others.

Also, I think my parking spot is amazing. It felt so good to pull right into the ramp and park, walk into my building and get to my office within 30 minutes of leaving home. And when I got into my car, I could pull right out without any trouble at all.  There was no traffic on the ride there or back.

And being able to walk over to Starbucks around 2:30 when I was about to pass out from the heat of my office was pretty nice too.  It woke me up a bit and gave me even more confidence.  I finally took off my jacket due to the extreme heat in my office and was really happy when my boss came in and didn’t comment on my tattoos showing.

I think the most important aspect of my day is that I was treated as an equal.  There was never a moment where anyone expressed hesitation about my presence in the office.  The first moment when my assistant told me that I was her boss, telling me that she wanted to learn what I want and don’t want from her, I felt very undeserving of her help. But as I listened to her make calls for the other associate, who she also works for, I realized how much better she will be able to make my life, and how great it will be to have someone who really knows what’s going on with my cases so that I have someone to talk to about things.

I am very grateful for this opportunity, and for the first time in a long time, I really feel like the future is bright.

Leave a Reply

